众谷公益: 给电脑第二次生命

联合国国际电信联盟、联合国大学和国际固体废弃物协会发布的《2017年全球电子垃圾监测报告》显示,2016年全球共产生4470万吨电子垃圾,其中仅1/5获得回收。在亚洲和全球,中国产生的电子废弃物数量均为最高(720万吨)。据估算,到2021年,全球产生的电子垃圾便将高达5220万吨。

随着经济增长和电子产品的快速更新换代,人们淘汰和丢弃的电子产品越来越多。而与此同时,在中国,特别是中西部地区,有几千万的乡村学龄儿童很少有机会接触电脑等电子产品,期盼着通过网络接触世界的机会。

对于上海众谷慈善青年发展中心的创始人兼董事长张斌峰先生来说,这些看似无关紧要的社会问题却是一次机遇,通过采访我们有幸对他将环境保护与扶贫助学项目相结合的项目有了更多的了解。如下是本次采访的重点内容。

张老师您好,可否请您介绍一下众谷公益的源起?
2012年6月,众谷公益正式注册成立为民办非企业单位,但是我们的再生电脑项目,其实早在2009年就已经开始了。那年年初,我偶然看到了一部CBS(美国哥伦比亚广播公司)制作的,真实反映全球电子垃圾地下交易、转移及处置产业链的纪录片,这部纪录片深深地震撼了我。由此我萌发了发动公众和企业正规捐赠废弃电子产品,并将其再生利用和环保化处置的念头。

最初,我们将经过再生处理的电脑设备,二次销售到市场,再将获得的资金再用到公益项目上。但是没过多久,我们就发现这个方法不是最完美的,

因为回流到市场的电子设备,就像断了线的风筝,归根结底,我们还是无法跟踪它们的去向,更做不到最终实现环保处置。我们是不是可以最大化这些设备的使用价值,把他们给到更需要的人呢?

因此我们决定把获得新生命的电脑,送到乡村学校,让乡村的老师和孩子们也能接触到整个世界,掌握科技知识。他们的身体虽暂时走不出大山,但眼睛和心灵可以!同时,当电脑使用到最后年限时,我们也能收回所有的旧电脑,做好环保处置的最后一环。

就这样,“环保”、“循环经济”、“教育扶贫”这三重指向,在我们的执着探索、实践下,融合成一个可持续的闭环,形成了真正完整的众谷公益“爱传递·再生电脑教室”项目。

众谷公益的主要项目有哪些?
众谷公益的主要项目有两个。

第一个是“爱飞翔——乡村教师培训“项目。项目坚持关注教师、注重“体验“和全民公益的理念,定期邀请偏远地区的乡村教师到北京、上海等大城市,坐一次飞机、看一次演出、参加一场论坛、参观一次现代化企业等。让乡村教师们零距离体验城市生活、感受都市风情,接受新知,开阔他们的眼界,增强对职业的认同感和责任感,提升他们带领乡村孩子飞翔的能力。

第二个是“爱传递——再生电脑教室”项目。项目发动公众募集捐赠闲置的电脑,组织专业力量进行规范再生,以性能良好的再生电脑帮助有需求的乡村学校建设电脑教室,提供持续监管及支持,并在最终收回报废电脑环保处置。

当然,环保方面,为了宣导和提倡废旧电子设备的环保处置,除了旧电脑,我们还免费接收公众捐赠的各类淘汰电子产品,将其再生利用或环保处置。

你们的电脑主要从哪些途径得到呢?
很多大企业一般在使用电脑设备3-5年后,会淘汰换一批新的。他们也都有这个意识希望能够找到一家机构,帮他们很好地再利用这些电脑,或者直接环保处置,我们就成为了他们很好的一个选择。众谷大部分的电脑都来自于企业淘汰下来的设备捐赠,当然我们也欢迎个人和社区捐赠设备,我们会认真对待大家的每一份爱心。

如您之前介绍的,众谷回收废弃电子设备都是免费的,机构目前全职工作人员有12位,请问众谷是如何做到可持续发展的呢?
企业除了提供二手的电子设备以外,也会选择和众谷公益共建电脑教室的方式提供相应的资金支持。我们有超过60%的资金来自企业,这其中除了筹备、搭建和维护电脑教室产生的硬性成本之外,也包括了我们的日常运营管理费用。随着时代的发展和公益理念的普及,越来越多的企业能够理解并接受这个概念。我一直认为,作为一个能够持续发展的公益机构,必须推行两个“化”:第一,专业化,机构一定要专注自己的公益领域,做深、做透,切忌什么都涉及。第二,公益人的职业化。一方面,机构领导者和社会都要把公益机构的工作当成一份和其他职业一样的职业,给予公益人合理的收入和待遇;另一方面,公益人也要具有爱岗敬业、注重效率的职业精神,才能让这个行业更稳定、可持续地发展下去。

你们一共才12位员工,全国各地有那么多项目,是怎么管理运营的呢?
目前我们采用区域集中化模式建设电脑教室,并提供持续三年以上“线上+线下”的支持。在计划新建电脑教室时,统筹安排对周边已建电脑教室进行实地回访及技术支持。研发并应用“爱传递远程信息应用平台”,在后续监管支持过程中,在线实时监控教室使用情况,实现多方的即时互动交流、优质课件在线共享以及网络在线教学。在搭建电脑教室时,我们把对学校负责老师进行培训做在了前面,让他们能根据自己和学生们的需求,更持续、更充分和更高效地利用电脑教室。

你们是如何决策是否支持该学校以及支持他们的时间先后的呢?
我们有一个比较科学和公正的申请、评估流程。本着“迫切需求、高度配合”和“区域集中化”的原则展开项目的安排和落地。当然,对于一些爱心捐赠企业,他们也可以在与自己企业相关的地区,推荐或选择符合援建原则的乡村学校,开展项目并冠名电脑教室。

你们如何评估你们的项目成果呢?
我们会从环境、经济、和社会等多方面评估我们的项目成果。

在环境方面,项目通过广泛宣讲,普及关于电子废弃物“环保、教育扶贫、循环经济”的综合性处置理念,募集废旧电脑及其它各类电子设备。其中部分性能良好的电脑得到再生,因此而减少碳排放,更有效减少、铜、铁、铅、塑料等各种原材料的消耗。有效保护环境,保护人身健康的同时,节约资源和能源。

在经济方面,在同样满足乡村师生办公学习要求的前提下,用性能优良再生电脑建设一间电脑教室的费用仅仅是用新电脑建设费用的1/5-1/4。在当前资源、能源、资金相对不足的大环境状况下,此项目极具推广示范意义。而项目采用的“区域化集中建设和管理”模式,应用“爱传递远程信息应用平台”,极大地提高了效率,节约了成本。

在社会效益方面,为众多期望践行社会责任的企业、个人,提供了一个靠谱的、有技术含量、可持续深度参与的公益平台。

最最重要的是,在这个信息时代,帮助众多偏远地区的乡村孩子拥有了平等地接受优质教育、平等地触摸精彩世界的机会。

未来五年的计划是什么?
目前,我们在业界虽然已经有一些知名度,在北京、深圳、西安等地也有工作站或联络人,但是总体还是主要局限在上海。未来五年,我们希望能够成为全国引领地位的环保、扶贫公益机构,把我们清晰的可持续发展的模式和项目的理念、通过扶持其他的公益机构,在全国范围复制推广。

读者和企业能如何帮助你们?
我们非常欢迎企业和个人,从人、财、物、技术四个方面支持我们的项目。除了捐款、捐设备以外,企业可以组织志愿者、社区个人也可以通过我们的平台报名参与成为志愿者,参与我们的各个项目。

一般来说,每捐赠人民币6-8万元或40台旧电脑,可以支持乡村学校建一个绿色电脑教室。我们计划在2019年建80间电脑教室。

同时,我们也非常希望大家能够有环境保护的意识,将不用的电子产品给到我们或其他专业的环保处置机构进行处理,不要随便丢弃,也不要随意卖给只顾攫取经济利益而罔顾环境保护的非正规回收处置企业或个人。

你的小小举动,不仅为我们生活的环境出了一份力,很可能还会帮助到一群乡村的老师和孩子。

如何联络到你们?
可以登录我们的官网:www.zhonggu.org.cn ,或者关注我们的微信公众号:zhong-gu,

也可以直接电话联系我们:021-5299-0731。

目前,众谷公益的“爱传递·再生电脑教室”项目已经募集及综合化处置约55000台闲置电子设备,在云南、甘肃、贵州、湖南、四川、安徽、西藏、新疆等29个省份建成339间电脑教室,超过13万名乡村师生因此受益。项目获得全国和地区多种奖项,得到了各界的大力认可。

发表评论

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

此站点使用Akismet来减少垃圾评论。了解我们如何处理您的评论数据

ZhongGu Charity: Giving Computers A Second Life in Rural China

According to the report of The Global E-waste Monitor 2017, only one-fifth of the 44.7 million tons of e-waste generated worldwide was recycled in 2016. In China, which generates the most e-waste by volume both in Asia and in the world (7.2 Mt), is estimated that by 2021, and the total amount of e-waste will dispose of more than 52.2 million tons.

With the economic growth and the rapid upgrading of electronic products, more and more electronic products have been discarded. At the same time, tens of millions of school-age children in rural areas, especially in the central and western regions of China,  where students have little access to computers and are all looking forward to the opportunity to connect to the world through the Internet.

For Mr. Zhang Binfeng, the Founder and Chairman of Shanghai Zhonggu Charity Youth Development Center, the seemingly unrelated problems were an opportunity for him, and through this interview we learn more about his work. Work that seeks to displace connect environmental protection with poverty alleviation programs in China. We had the honor to speak to and below are some highlights of the interview with Mr. Zhang.

CR: So, Mr. Zhang, could you briefly introduce your organization and how did the idea initially come about?
Zhang:

While we were officially registered June 2012, I began the computer recycling project in 2009 after watching a CBS documentary about global underground electronic waste trade.  It was a real shock to me, after that, I had the idea to encourage the public and enterprises to donate their retired electronic products, recycle and dispose them in a more environmentally friendly way.

At the very beginning, we sold the old electronic equipment back to the market and use the income to fund the project or other charitable projects. It didn’t take long for us to realize that this method was not the most ideal.

Electronic devices returning to the market were like kites with broken strings, we couldn’t track their whereabouts, let alone to achieve the ultimate goal of environmentally friendly disposal. So we thought maybe we could maximize the use of these devices and give them to people who need them more?

Thus, we decided to send those “renewed” computers to the village schools so that rural teachers and children can connect to the outside world via internet. They might not physically be able to leave the mountains, but their hearts and mind can.

On the other hand, we can also keep track of these computers and get them back for recycling at the end of their life span.

In this way, “environmental protection”, “circular economy” and “poverty alleviation through education” can become a sustainable closed loop and ultimately formed the comprehensive “Green IT Classrooms Program”.


CR: How many programs do you have?
Zhang:

We have two major projects.

The first one is “Rural Teacher Training Program“. The program pays attention to rural teachers and the concept of “experience”.  Teachers from rural areas are regularly invited to Beijing, Shanghai and other big cities, during the trip they have chances to take an airplane, watch a performance, attend a conference, visit a modern enterprise, etc. We hope to use this method to broaden the horizons of these rural teachers and to enhance their ability to guide rural children to a bigger world.

The second one is “Green IT Classrooms Program“. The project is to encourage public to donate their no longer in use computers, organize professionals to recycle and regenerate computers and help rural schools to build computer labs with regenerated computers in good condition. Meanwhile, we also provide necessary training and technical support after the classrooms were established, and eventually recover the computers and disposal them properly.

Other than the above programs, in order to promote the proper disposal of electronic equipment, we also accept all kinds of second-hand electronic products for recycling free of charge.

CR: How do you get your computers?

Zhang: As large companies renew their computers after 3-5 years’ usage, and they always want to find an organization who can help them to further use or properly dispose the devices, we would be a good choice of them. Most of our computers come from corporate donations. We also welcome donations from individuals and communities, we really appreciate their generosity.

CR: As you have introduced before, Zhonggu Charity recycling waste electronic equipment is free of charge and you have 12 full-time staff currently. How do you create a sustainable business model?

Zhang: In addition to providing second-hand electronic equipment, the enterprises also support our project through financial donation. More than 60% of our funding come from corporate donations, which also covers our daily operation and management expenses. With the development of CSR and charitable work in China matures, more and more enterprises are coming to understand and accept that NGOs also need to pay for administration fee. I have always believed that as an NGO capable of sustainable development, it is necessary to carry out two missions: first, it should be specialized, instead of covering everything, the organization must focus on its own expertise. Secondly, professionalization of NGO staff. Only by treating the NGO work as seriously as any other professions and paying them fairly, can the industry become more stable and sustainable. Meanwhile, NGO staff should also grow to be more professional.

CR: You have so many green IT classrooms to build up across China, how do you manage all of them by just 12 staff?

Zhang: Currently we use a regional centralization model to build computer classrooms and provide “online + offline” support in the last 3 years. When planning to build a new classroom, we will arrange visits to those old computer classrooms and provide technical support on site. We also developed an online supporting system that can provide real-time monitoring of the classrooms and provide support remotely. When we build the classrooms, we always train teachers first, so that they can use the computer labs based on their own needs or students’ needs accordingly.

CR: How do you decide whether or not to support them and when to support them?
Zhang:

We have a detailed and fair application and evaluation process to select schools. The results are also depended on how cooperative the schools are and how urgent the school’s situation is. We will also consider the regional centralization situation to allow us to work more efficiently. Of course, donor enterprises can also select areas to align with their own business needs, recommend or select the rural schools based on our existing pool of school and may name the computer labs.

CR: How do you evaluate your impact?

Zhang: We evaluate the results of our program from 3 different aspects, environment, economics and social.

In terms of environment, through our publicity, we promote the concept of electronic waste recycling and collect old computers and other electronic equipment. Among the equipment, computers with good condition would be regenerated, thus reducing carbon emissions as well as reducing the consumption of raw materials, such as copper, iron lead, plastic, etc. therefore, the program helps to protect the environment, reduce health risks and can save resources and energy.

In terms of economics, the budget for building a computer lab with recycled computers costs only 20% to 25% of the cost of building a lab with new computers. With limited resource, energy and budget, this project sets a great example for others to follow. And our model of regional centralization and online supporting system also improved efficiency and saved costs.

In terms of social impact, our program provides a reliable, technology-based platform for many enterprises and individuals who are passionate about realizing their social responsibilities.

Most importantly, rural children we help can have the opportunity to receive a quality education and to connect with the world.

CR: What’s your plan for the next five year?

Zhang: Although we already have gained some awareness in the industry and have offices or contacts in Beijing, Shenzhen and Xi ‘an, our reach is still limited within Shanghai. In the next five years, we hope to become a leading NGO of environmental protection and poverty alleviation in China, replicate and promote our model of sustainable development and the concept of our projects by expending our scales as well as supporting other organizations.

CR: How can our readers and corporate companies support your organization and programs?

Zhang: We welcome companies and individuals to support our projects in terms of manpower, money, goods and technical support. In addition to donating money and equipment, enterprises can organize volunteers to participate in various projects through our platform, we also welcome individual volunteers from the communities to sign up.

With just ¥ 60,000 to ¥ 80,000 or 40 used computers, a computer lab can be set up in a rural school.  We are planning to build 80 labs in 2019.

We also hope that everyone can have the awareness of environmental protection, send your electronic products to us or other professional environmental protection disposal agencies for processing. Please do not throw away e-waste or sell to unprofessional individuals or organizations. Your kind action will not only help protect the environment but also help a group of rural children and teachers to be connected to the world.

CR: How can people contact your organization?

Zhang: You can go to our official website www.zhonggu.org.cn, or follow our WeChat account Zhong-gu, of course you are also welcome to call us directly at 021-5299-0731.

Currently, Zhong Gu Charity’s “Green IT Classrooms Program” has collected and properly disposed around 55,000 used electronic equipment. 339 computer labs have been established in 29 provinces such as Yunan, Gansu, Guizhou, Hunan, Sichuan, Anhui, Xizang, Xinjiang, over 130,000 rural teachers and students have been impacted.

You Might Also Be Interested in Reading

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.