让法务、财务和税务团队尽早加入你的企业社会责任计划吧!

在过去15年里,尤其是2008年汶川地震之后,中国的非营利机构发展迅速,而各种网络平台的兴起也促使越来越多的民众参与到慈善公益之中。

与其他许多领域一样,数字平台颠覆了传统的参与形式,尽管这种转型会带来很多益处,但也存在诸多挑战。

这些挑战迫使非营利机构、捐赠人和各个平台作出相应的调整。通过这篇文章,我们将与大家分享几个最近发生的慈善事件,讨论由于管理失误所带来的影响。这些案例最终也推进了非营利机构的成长,提高了机构的透明度,完善了机构的监管机制。

案例1 – 水滴筹众筹平台

随着线上参与的发展,很多支持捐款活动的众筹平台陆续启动。这些活动使非营利机构有机会接触到数百万新的捐赠人,并为更多受助群体创造了获得帮助的机会。

因为大量的爱心人士参与到各种众筹项目,确保信息真实性的挑战也随之增加。对于大的众筹平台来说,每一份受助申请都应该在启动筹款之前通过平台进行审核和验证。可是随着参与人数的增加,有些平台未能在政策和操作上保持一致,这也导致了不少被质疑的事件。

最近,2016年推出的热门众筹平台“水滴筹”在款项使用方面受到了捐赠者的质疑。该事件发生在2019年11月,当时水滴筹将所谓的志愿者派遣到中国40多个城市的医院推广他们的应用程序,并帮助患者开通他们的众筹账户。

这些“志愿者”还帮助病人设置筹款目标,有些金额远远高于病人的实际需求,这也让“佣金”一说浮出水面,被广泛质疑。

“我以前很喜欢通过这样的平台捐款,特别是当我看到这些可怜病人的照片的时候。但是现在看了这些新闻我开始产生怀疑了,我不希望自己的同情心被人利用了。”

为了解决这些问题,水滴筹特别成立了调查小组去了解情况,提升内部管理,并承诺在未来的筹款中通过各种流程和审核提升信息真实性和透明度。

案例2-中国儿童少年基金会春蕾计划

随着捐赠人认知水平的不断提高与对公益组织管理要求的提高,现今的捐赠人在监督捐赠流程和款项使用方面也变得越来越积极主动。这促使了很多非营利机构必须更好地完成项目。比如在2019年底发生在中国儿童少年基金会-春蕾计划的事件,这个项目发起于1989年,成立目的是为了帮助贫困女童重返校园。

在2019年12月,当春蕾计划在网络上公布自己的项目报告时,被发现原本应用于资助1267位女童的助学款项里竟然资助了453位男童。

基金会最开始的解释是这些男孩子家庭也非常困难,确实需要资助。但是这样的回答并不能抵消公众对于善款使用的质疑,最终基金会再次发出公告,说明会将453名男孩的捐款原路退回,并通过其他项目另行资助。

案例3-四川红十字基金会消防员基金

决定是否捐赠的核心是信任。包括了对非营利机构工作能力的信任,确保善款落到实处的信任和对剩余善款如何处置的信任。

很多时候,产生信任问题的根源也许是一些很简单的错误、缺乏有效沟通或者捐赠人和公益组织之间期望的差距。缺乏培训的工作人员可能会让问题更严重,而他们可能只是出于好意。

2019年,四川省红十字基金会为30位在凉山大火中牺牲的消防员募款,后来因善款使用方向受到了公众的质疑。

在募款首页显示,所有款项都会用于帮助救灾英雄的家庭,但是后来人们发现款项中只有一部分用于牺牲消防员家庭,剩下的一大半都用于其他项目,虽然这些捐款也都与消防建设和教育有关,但这的确和最初的说法是不同的。

一些捐赠者认为自己的捐款在未被告知的情况下被挪用了,于是他们在社交平台上发表了评论。

“我觉得我被募款的标题、描述和照片误导了。我本来以为所有捐款应该都是用于这30位牺牲的消防员家庭的。”

与前一个案例一样,问题的根源不是善款用在了不该用的地方,而是在于这些机构不能或不愿意把资金的使用计划与捐赠人进行真诚的沟通。

在网友的质疑和压力下,最终基金会很快作出了回应并道歉,他们解释了沟通中的失误,并承诺最终将所有善款用于30位牺牲消防员家庭。

结语

随着互联网的不断发展,线上募款平台的迅速增长,发生问题的可能性也在不断增加。因为过去发生的一些事件,许多人本来就对非营利机构的信心有所动摇,在这样的环境下,非营利机构也就必须面对更多全新的挑战。

上述分享的这三个例子突出了网络平台所面临的风险,但更重要的是,这些风险也促使公益机构优化传统的工作方法、更好地与捐赠方沟通并且更负责任地完成和公布项目进程和结果。

发表评论

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

此站点使用Akismet来减少垃圾评论。了解我们如何处理您的评论数据

NGOs in China Grow Through Crisis.

As the work of non-profit-organizations in China has developed over the last 15 years, especially in the years following the 2008 Wenchuan earthquake, the role of social media platforms critical to support public engagement in charitable activities.

Like many areas of the wider economy where digital platforms disrupted traditional forms of engagement, while there were many upsides to the transitions, there were also challenges.

Challenges which have forced NGOs, donors, and platforms, to make adjustments, and through this post, we will share some insights into a few recent charity scandals to show the impact of mismanagement and how that has led to calls for higher levels of transparency and accountability within the third sectors.

Case 1 – Shidichou Crowdfunding Platform

With the shift toward online engagements, dozens of crowdfunding platforms supporting donation campaigns have launched.  These campaigns have given NGOs access to millions of new donors and created vibrant marketplaces for a wide range of beneficiaries.

As providers have crowded into the space, the challenge of ensuring the quality of submissions has grown.   For the largest platforms, like Tencent and Alibaba, each submission is supposed to be reviewed, and verified but the platforms prior to the launch of the funding campaigns.  Unfortunately, with the large number of campaigns being submitted, platforms have failed to be consistent in policy, and that has led to a number of high profile scandals.

Most recently, Shuidichou, a popular platform launched in 2016, was challenged by donors who were concerned that funds were not used as advertised.  The case came to light in November 2019, when Shuidichou sent so-called “volunteers” to hospitals in more than 40 cities across China to promote their APP and help patients to open their crowdfunding accounts.

These “volunteers” also helped the patients to set fund-raising targets, some of which were far higher than what the patients would need, which lead to questions about the role of commissions paid to “volunteers”.

“I used love to donate to support those people through these platforms, especially when you see their poor photos. But I started to doubt myself these days after seeing these news, I don’t want them to take advantage of me.”

To answer the questions raised, Shuidichou established a crisis management team, to investigate the case, , and committed to improved transparency measures.

Case 2 – China Children and Teenager’s Fund

As the level of donor education improves, and their standards elevated, donors are taking a more proactive approach to supervising donations and the progress of programs they have donated to.

This change in donor expectations is something that many NGOs have struggles with, as seen in the  December 2019 crisis involving the “Spring Bud” program, of the  China Children and Teenager’s Fund. A program launched in 1989 to help girls in poverty areas return to school.

In December 2019, when the “Spring Bud – Female Students Tuition Fee Support” program update was loaded to its Alipay platform, donors began asking why 453 of the 1,267 beneficiaries were boys when the program was advertised as exclusively helping girls.

The Foundation initially responded by saying that boys in poverty areas were also in need of assistance, and thus the reallocation was appropriate. The response did little to address the concerns, and soon after, they were forced to issue a second statement stating that the funding for the 453 male students would be returned to the donors.

Case 3 – Sichuan Red Cross Firefighters Fund

At the core of a donor’s decision to make a donation is trust.  Trust in the organization’s capacity to do the work, its team to execute on their promise to donors, and in how the organization will use remaining funds.

In most cases, the problems are rooted in simple mistakes, a failure to effectively communicate, or in a gap of expectations between donor and organization.  Problems that can be exacerbated by poorly trained staff, who may be acting with the best intentions.

In 2019, the Sichuan Red Cross Foundation was challenged publicly about their management of a fund dedicated to support the families of 30 fire fighters who were killed in the Liangshan fire disaster.

As part of the campaign, all funds were said to be given to the families of the heroes.  However, donors found through online documentation, that more than half of the funds were used to develop different programs.  Programs that were related to firefighters, but different from the one donors had given to.

Donors who felt their donations had be diverted inappropriately, and without their consent, took to social media.

“I think the photo, title and the program description mislead people. The overview said all the amounts will go to support the 30 fire fighters’ families.”

Like the previous case, the root of the issues was not that the funds were being improperly used, not that the NGO failed to support the group they promised to.   It was rooted in the inability, or unwillingness, of the organization to communicate honestly with donors about the over-funding and how they planned to use those funds.

Through the online calls for accountability, the foundation was forced to respond quickly with an apology, and explanation of how the decision was made, and a commitment to use all the donations to support the 30 fire fighters’ families.

Conclusion

With the speed of growth in China’s third sector propelled by the growth of online funding platforms, the chances for failure were high.  Particularly in an environment where public perceptions of NGO practices were already damaged by previous high-profile scandals.

These examples for us are three that we feel highlighted the risks that new platforms face, but more importantly how they are responding to the crisis by building better practices, communicating better with donors, and holding NGOs accountable for their work.

 

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.